Want to make a difference in your community? Whether you want to help start a new group, facilitate sessions, help with blogging and social media, plan our next fundraiser, or connect us to grants and sponsors, we are always looking for new teammates who can use their “best” selves to help end isolation! You can join Best Day’s Core Team to work on our organization’s sustainability and program expansion, or a local team to help run a program site. When you join, you’ll get exclusive perks via our “Best Day Team Huddle” newsletter including tips for enriching your personal intergenerational relationships. Interested? Awesome! Email info@bestdayofmylifesofar.org to tell us about your background, goals and location, and we’ll get back to you promptly!






Board of directors

Benita Cooper, Benita Cooper Design – Founder and President

Cara Scharf, Wagner Free Institute of Science – Development Director

Charlton Lin, The Vanguard Group – Corporate Engagement Director

Diane Menio, Center for Advocacy for the Rights and Interests of the Elderly – Professional Engagement Director

Euney Kim, McKinsey and Company – Corporate Engagement Director

Kaitlin Kortonick, Rowan University – Community Engagement Director

Sharon Yesner, United Methodist Communities at Pitman – Professional Engagement Director

William Hussey, White and Williams – Legal Counsel to the Board


Core team


Andy Kahan, Free Library of Philadelphia

Fred Siegel, Fred Siegel Partners

Jen Feden, Ballard Spahr LLP

Lynn Fields Harris, Center in the Park

Thelma Reese, The New Senior Woman

Tina Bontya, United Methodist Communities at Pitman


Community Engagement Committee

Annalise Sheslow

Alyssa Abel

Jason Cooper

Kendall Appleby

Madi Garvin

Mary McGinley


Development Committee

Jen McGhee

Mike Baldassari

Sandra Adams


Comprehensive Fiscal Manager:
CultureWorks Greater Philadelphia

Jamaine Smith

Ellen Snyder

Alexandra Sarkuni

Rashanda Freeman

Melissa Hamilton


Local teams

Philadelphia Senior Center Group

Benita Cooper, supervisor

Caitlin Cieri, lead facilitator

Cassie O’ Leary, lead facilitator

Hannah Pigeon, lead facilitator

Jana Henry, lead facilitator

Jen McGhee, lead facilitator

Neha Kataruka, lead facilitator

Allison Winter, copyediting coordinator

Amanda Martin

Ava Hawkinson

Diane Menio

Jada Lee

Jasmine Moore

Kadambari Mishra

Kira Mason

Madi Garvin

Mary McGinley

Rachel Hampton

Win Winter


UMC Pitman Group

(United Methodist Communities at Pitman)

Sharon Yesner, supervisor

Tina Bontya, supervisor

Diana Clark, lead facilitator

Ashley Force

Jared Poehlman

Kaitlin Kortonick

Karen Emig

Michala Archut

Zach Santos-Belsky


Sherwood Park Group

(Sherwood Park Nursing and Rehab Center)

Donna McCario, supervisor

Sheila Patten


Center in the Park Group

Cleo Smalls, supervisor

Lynn Fields Harris, supervisor

Victoria Peurifoy, lead facilitator

Brannon Johnson

Carlotta Fareira

Diane Davis Bush

Dianne B. Tucker

LeTretta Jones

Renee Cunningham

Runett Ebo-Gray


SASI Group at Levy Center

(Services for Adults Staying in Their Homes)

Nancy Nicholson, supervisor

Jeanie Ramsie, supervisor

Barbara Sittler

Janet Bein

Linda Steiner


SASI Group at The Merion

(Services for Adults Staying in Their Homes)

Deborah Jones-Miller, supervisor


Mather’s More Than Just a Café Group

Chuck Freilich, supervisor

Patricia Knazze, lead facilitator

Allyson Gunther

Jan Mason


TRC Group

(The Renaissance Collaborative)

Sean Dolan, supervisor

Darnetta Donegan


Journey’s Way Group

Rebecca Kochman, supervisor

Alison Tasch, lead facilitator

Claire Gold

Katheryn Trotta


SHAG Group

(Senior Housing Assistance Group)

Alyza DelPan-Monley, supervisor

Karon Hill, supervisor

Cindy Ko

Emily Van der Harten

Hayley Shannon


Jason Merges

Jordan Colvard

Kathy Seim

Kaitlin Dye

Kelsey May

Lorraine Lau

Rebecca Win


Free Library of Philadelphia Group

Brendan O’Hara, lead facilitator

Amy Henson, lead facilitator

Kemar Nembhard

Kwame Edwards

Madi Garvin

Tom Herron


Storybook credits

Alex Visconti – Graphic Designer

Andy Kahan – Editor

Caitlin Cieri – Editorial Assistant

Emily Antoszyk – Consulting Copy Editor

Jen Ross – Associate Editor

Madi Garvin – Associate Editor

Michelle Sheffer – Consulting Copy Editor

Thelma Reese – Editor


Toolbox editorial credits

Abbe Kelbanoff

Emily Geliebter

Kaitlyn Huczko

Mary Lo

Tina Bontya


Photo and video credits

Andrea Mack

Flavia Colgan

Jason Bachman

Jana Henry

Larissa Mogano

Mark Garvin

Maureen Roche

Natasha Esguerra

Steve Gardner

Tracy Ramone